Prof. Eberhard Standl

Forschergruppe Diabetes eV. at Munich Helmholtz Centre, Germany

Dr. Eberhard Standl is Professor of Medicine, endocrinologist and angiologist at the Forschergruppe Diabetes eV. at Munich Helmholtz Centre. He graduated from the Universities of Munich and Frankfurt (1967), and has developed his career in both Munich, and at the Joslin Diabetes Center, Boston, USA. He is retired director of the Department of Endocrinology, Diabetology and Metabolism at the Academic Hospital Munich-Schwabing and of the Forschergruppe Diabetes eV.

Professor Dr. Standl’s principal areas of research are diabetology, heart failure and diabetes, micro- and macro-vascular disease, cardio-neuropathy, muscle metabolism, action and degradation of insulin, immune pathogenesis of Type 1 diabetes, oxygen transport to tissue, epidemiology of cardiovascular diabetic complications and related randomized controlled intervention trials evaluating innovative blood glucose lowering drugs. He has published some 657 original papers, review articles, textbook chapters and monographs, and has received a wide range of scientific awards, including the Bertram Award of the German Diabetes Association for research related to vascular disease in diabetes in 1981, the Castelli-Pedroli Prize of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) in 1999, the Harold Rifkin Award of the American Diabetes Association 2005, and the Albert Renold Medal of EASD 2006, as well as the Ernst-von-Bergmann Plaque of the German Chamber of Physicians 2002 and the Golden Ribbon of Honour of the Bavarian Internists 2004 for his long-term dedication to medical education. In December 2013, he received the Hellmut Mehnert Award for his lifetime achievement at the World Diabetes Congess of the International Diabetes Federation (IDF). He is a member of several scientific associations, with strong affiliations to the German Diabetes Association, the EASD, and IDF. He was President of the German Diabetes Association 1988/89, vice-President both of EASD and IDF 2003 to 2006 and chairman of the Organizing Committee for the EASD congress 2004 in Munich. Furthermore, he is Past-President both of the German Diabetes Union (2003 to 2008) and of IDF Europe (2007/08) and was co-chair of the Joint Task Force of EASD and ESC (European Society for Cardiology) for the Guidelines on Diabetes, Pre-Diabetes, and Cardiovascular Diseases 2004 – 2009. Currently, he is vice chair of the Study Group on Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease and serves as associate editor of Diabetes Research and Clinical Practice. 2010 he has been elected as Fellow of the European Society of Cardiology. He is an honorary member of multiple National Diabetes as well as Cardiology Societies and Associations.